Six Years In

It occurred to me that I couldn’t remember when I had last updated my blog. It turns out that it’s been over three years! That’s not really too surprising, considering all that has gone on. The family has grown up. The children are “taking their places in society,” as my grandfather used to say. And Mom has graduated once and kept on going. With something like 84 graduate hours on my transcript, my M.A. is in the rearview mirror and I’m nearing the end of coursework for my Ph.D. It feels good to see that in print. This is my last full-time semester, which means writing for a grade is winding down. I thought it might be therapeutic to write a bit strictly for fun again. We visited Key West this summer for our 30th wedding anniversary. While there we toured Ernest Hemingway’s home and I was inspired by learning of his disciplined writing schedule. It seems most writers agree that the most productive hours at the keyboard are when one first wakes up. Thank goodness it doesn’t have to be at dawn so there’s hope for us night owls!

I highly recommend returning to school as a non-traditional student, investing in a long marriage, and visiting the Florida Keys. Have you taken a chance on a road less traveled?   Let me know how it went, or what’s holding you back.

Leave a comment