Tuesday

Time to catch up!

Yesterday we started out at Ripley’s Believe It or Not. It’s been years since I’ve visited one of these, and it had some really fascinating exhibits. Mostly lighthearted stuff, but the instruments of torture were a bit much. Abraham Lincoln’s portrait painted on a housefly, a chicken that lived four months without a head, and the albino giraffe were great. And the crazy bridge through a rotating cylinder – that was cool!

Next we went around the corner for lunch at Hard Rock. I’m not wild about the whole rock and roll scene, and usually the music is way too loud for me, but I get the appeal. Happily, this location was a real class act. The atmosphere was not “in your face”, our waiter was sharp, and the food was wonderful. I ordered a spicy burger, which elicited a warning of, “Are you sure? It’s really hot.” Yes, I’m sure. Whatever. Lol. On the Texas heat meter I’d give it a 3 for “amusing kick”.

The day was topped off with “Jersey Boys” at the August Wilson Theater. It lived up to its reputation. The language was coarse but the music was excellent. Now I have to go back and listen to the original versions of all those hits!

Leave a comment